grandma’s potato salad

Ever since I was little, I’ve loved dips. They were, and still are, my absolute favorite. French onion, salsa, ranch…you name it. I even used to suck ketchup off my French fries (a somewhat disgusting example of how far obsession can go). Apparently I loved dip so much that I used to dip my potato chips into potato salad. Really, not that bad if you think about it – maybe a slight tater overload, but no real conflicting tastes.

So when my boyfriend mentioned last week that his office was having a baseball season opener party complete with hot dogs and potato salad, I turned green with envy. Nothing sounded as good as potato salad in that moment. And a nice juicy hot dog in a soft bun.

Of course, that’s when I was in weight-loss panic mode (since abandoned), so pretty much anything besides soup and Lean Cuisine sounded heavenly.


I will tell you that this potato salad was met with less than stellar reviews from my family. My dad had issues with the “unusual” pickle addition, and Robin didn’t like the eggs. I accepted the constructive criticism (despite the fact it came from personal taste), but this is the way I’ve always had potato salad, and it is very dear to my heart.

Maybe that’s the key to any homestyle food – it should fill you with comfort and nostalgia…and taste delicious. Did I mention this potato salad has absolutely no onions? Onions are gross. And they have a tendency to permeate meals with their flavor. Yech.

I will say that my mom and I enjoyed it the night we made it, freshly concocted. I added a bit of extra pickle juice – I’m a pickle fiend – and a dash of paprika before serving. It becomes much tastier at room temperature, and I probably could’ve seasoned the potatoes a little after peeling and dicing.

Other than that, childhood perfection.

This is a perfect recipe to use up all those hard boiled eggs in a few weeks… and to me, it just screams summer. Warm weather and picnics – they can’t come soon enough!

Grandma’s Potato Salad
serves 4-6

10 small/medium red skinned potatoes (I used 6 Yukon gold & peeled them)
3 eggs, hard boiled
1/2 C Miracle Whip
1 T mustard
1/3 c. pickle juice
1/4 c. chopped pickles
Paprika, salt & pepper to taste

Boil your potatoes for about 30 minutes. Drain the potatoes and allow to cool. Peel and dice the potatoes and dump into a large bowl. To boil the eggs, place them all in a pot with water and bring to a boil. Allow to boil for a minute, then turn off the heat. Place a lid on the pot and keep it on the stove for 10 more minutes. After that, drain the eggs in a colander and run them under cold water (will allow the shells to remove more easily). Peel, chop and reserve.

Mix together 1/2 cup Miracle Whip (or mayo if you swing that way), 1 T mustard, 1/3 cup pickle juice and 1/4 cup chopped pickles. Be sure to taste this dressing, make your personal changes and mix with the potatoes.

Finally, add your chopped eggs, mix together lightly, and top with paprika. Refrigerate for a few hours to allow flavors to meld. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

