the quest for the perfect salsa

We’ve talked about my love of dips before.

Well, my friend, we’ve only scratched the surface.

Salsa and I have had a love affair since I was a young lass. I could eat it every day and on good weeks, I do.

Normally I’m a Pace girl. Try mixing it with sour cream and then scooping it up with salty tortilla chips. It’s about the best snack in existence. Really doesn’t take much to make me happy. That combination of salty and spicy is hard to beat.

But the best salsa of salsas is restaurant style salsa. That stuff is insane. I don’t even try to stop myself at a Mexican restaurant. I’m too busy stuffing my face.

What a pretty picture.

So when I saw an easy recipe for salsa on a blog I regularly peruse, I thought, now is the time. I’m fresh off the plane from an awesome trip to Mexico. Cinco de Mayo is just around the corner. And it’s salsa. There doesn’t have to be a reason.

Can I just tell you…I was so disappointed in this recipe. This happens regularly. Any normal person would have given up hope a long time ago if they encountered the number of mishaps I have in the kitchen. It was so bland when I tasted it the first time. It was watery, salty and tasted vaguely of tin can. Not good eats. I added some lime juice and said a prayer.

Then a salsa miracle happened. A true flavor transformation. I tasted it today with one of the aforementioned chips….and it was a flavor eXpLoSioN!! A delicious marrying of sweet, tangy and spicy. It was light and bright. I couldn’t stop eating it! Could it be – almost as addicting as restaurant salsa?

You be the judge.

Tips: 1) Do not taste test with a metal spoon. 2) Let it SIT for a few hours at least, so the flavors can meld. This is non-negotiable.

Recipe here.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

