churro cupcakes with dulce de leche

Oops! I’m a couple days late but finally ready to share these scrumptious, decadent, melt-in-your-mouth confections. Inspired by two recent holidays, Mother’s Day and Cinco de Mayo, I made churro cupcakes! And knowing that my mom is a fan of dulce de leche, I decided to fill them. I’ve always wanted to make filled cupcakes and I’m happy to say they weren’t hard at all. The whole process was a bit time consuming, but that’s only because I haven’t mastered multi-tasking in the kitchen. Overall, these tasty treats were simple to make and easy to put together…and they were a hit!

The cake was just a simple boxed cake mix that had a bit of cinnamon added – about a tablespoon. I used Betty Crocker SuperMoist vanilla mix and it was indeed moist and flavorful.

While still warm, they got a roll through a cinnamon sugar mix.

I then cut a cone hole in the top of each one and filled with dulce de leche.

Aaand topped it back off again.

Finally frosted, and they were done!

These were muy delicioso, if I may say so myself.

Cake:
Buy vanilla cake mix. Make as directed. Add about a tablespoon of cinnamon before pouring into lined cupcake pan. (I did 2/3 full and that made about 20)

Filling:
Easy dulce de leche
Note: every recipe I found took at least an hour except this one. However, you do need to watch your condensed milk closely because it will boil over in your microwave. Though the website says 50% power, after about 8 minutes I went down to 30% power on my microwave.

Then, perhaps the best part of the recipe, the frosting:
Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Recipe from Bakingdom {btw, her churro cupcakes look super delish}

I would also recommend topping these with fried tortilla strips, rolled in cinnamon sugar. (I wanted to but didn’t have time) Mmm!

For more tips on how to fill a cupcake go here.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

