breakfast pizza

Living in my hometown definitely has its perks. I’m essentially at the hub of my loved ones – the friends I’ve had since high school and almost all of my mom’s family live or visit here frequently. So I get to wave friends off on their adventures and spend Sundays eating lunch with extended family.

Though I find this town comforting and familiar, I’m just so ready to live on my own. In the past year, both my mom and dad have let me live in their respective houses for a while. I’ve decided this fall I’m going out on my own and could not be more excited. I’m pumped to “keep my own ‘house'” (see: cheap apartment) and finally be truly independent. I won’t be going far – just to the city where I work (I have a terrible commute now) but it will be a huge change for me.

And I’ve been trying to challenge myself lately. Cooking new things. Sticking to a budget… considering the fact that money – and my inability to manage it – is the reason I haven’t yet moved out on my own.

Luckily, this pizza wasn’t a challenge at all. It is so simple and delicious. The crust is simultaneously chewy, crunchy and soft as a pillow (and it came out of a can!). No sauce to be found, but you won’t miss it…instead, there are beautiful, runny egg yolks. Topped with mozzarella cheese, Parmesan, asparagus and maple bacon- my personal favorite. It’s salty, sweet and incredibly satisfying. Plus, I had all these things on hand, so it was convenient and a great way to clean out the fridge.

Breakfast Pizza
Pretty much the same as Smitten Kitchen

1 can Pillsbury Thin Pizza Crust
4 eggs
3 strips of bacon (maple bacon=amazingness)
1 cup chopped asparagus
1.5 cups mozzarella
.5 cups parmesan

Preheat the oven to 450*. Take dough out of can and lay on pizza stone or sheet pan – if using a pan, lightly grease it first (I used the new Pampered Chef stone that my dad and Robin got me as an early, early birthday gift – yay!).

Fry up your 3 strips of bacon on the stove. I’ve found the best bacon is made by cooking over medium heat – much higher than that and the middle burns but the edges aren’t done.

While that’s cooking, crack one egg into a bowl. Make sure there are no bits of shell and pour onto the pizza dough. You can, of course, skip this step but I thought it made the process easier. Continue for all 4 eggs. I decided not to salt and pepper at this stage – I thought the pizza was plenty salty with the cheese and very flavorful without pepper, but add them if you want!

Wash your asparagus and chop off the rough ends. Then cut crosswise into 3 equal sections. This ensures even baking time. You do not need to pre-cook these at all.

Sprinkle about 3/4 of your cheese – mozz and parm – over the crust and the eggs. Evenly distribute the asparagus across the dough. When the bacon is done, crumble and sprinkle across the top. Then add the rest of the cheese.

Bake for 7-9 minutes or until crust is golden, cheese is melted and eggs are slightly set. Deb from Smitten Kitchen then topped hers with assorted herbs, which would be lovely.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

