fathers day deserves a crostata

A simple, rustic peach and blueberry crostata. The first I’ve ever made! *cue applause*

I don’t do the fruity thing too often when it comes to baked goods. Mostly because…I don’t really like pie. I know, I know. I’m probably one of the few in this whole world (or at least the Midwest) who has this peculiar distaste for America’s dessert.

B tells me all the time I have the weirdest preferences when it comes to food. I mean, who doesn’t like flaky golden pie crust?

Erm.

There’s just something about the texture of pie crust that isn’t at the top of my list when it comes to desserts. And I know I’ve had good pie crust. Great homemade pie crust actually, thanks to my grandma.

Anyway, this crostata totally changed my mind. The crust is thick and crumbly and sweet. Couldn’t get enough of it. Super easy to make, too! (Just a pain in the butt to transfer from counter to baking stone – I’ve shared my tips below to hopefully save you some trouble.)

My entire family can truly appreciate good food, especially when it’s simple and still delicious. Passion for quality food stems from both sides of my family, but especially my dad. My brutally honest, super smart, funny, hotheaded, loving Dad. We bond over books, movies, technology and especially food. He’s been wonderfully supportive throughout the years and I love him lots. Here’s to you, Dad –

Rustic Peach and Blueberry Crostata

Slightly adapted this recipe by Tyler Florence

Ingredients
Pastry:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 lemon, zest finely grated
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cold and cut into small chunks
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons ice water, plus more if needed

Filling:

  • 4 large ripe peaches, pitted and sliced
  • 1 pint fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I upped from the original 2 tablespoons and it wasn’t overly sweet)
  • 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

Glaze:

  • 1 large egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

Don’t forget vanilla ice cream!

Directions

To make the pastry: combine the flour, sugar, salt, and lemon zest in a large mixing bowl. Add the butter and mix with your hands until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. (I got the desired texture by mixing and pinching the butter.) Add the egg yolk and pour in the ice water; work it in to bind the dough until it holds together without being too wet or sticky. Squeeze a small amount together, if it is crumbly, add more ice water, 1 teaspoon at a time. Form the dough into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

To make the filling: combine the peaches, blueberries, lemon juice, sugar and flour in a large mixing bowl. Toss the mixture gently to coat the fruit.

Preheat to 375 degrees F. It’s best to prepare this crostata on a preheated pizza stone (and place the tart on with a pizza peel) but I didn’t preheat my stone and it turned out great – I just couldn’t get the tart off! I think this would also bake well on a cookie sheet.

[Important!!] Place enough plastic wrap on the counter so you can roll out a 14-inch circle with your dough and transfer the plastic wrap to your stone/pizza paddle or cookie sheet. Sprinkle wrap and a rolling pin lightly with flour. Roll the dough out into a 14-inch circle on top of plastic wrap, about 1/4-inch thick; it doesn’t have to be perfect, free-form is the look you want for this rustic tart.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured pizza paddle (cookie sheet/stone). Spoon the fruit mixture into the center of the dough, leaving a 2-inch border all around; brush the border with the egg wash. Lift the edge of crust over the filling, leaving the fruit exposed in center. Gently fold and pinch the dough to seal any cracks. Brush the crust with the remaining egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. Bake the crostata in the middle of your oven for 30 to 40 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and fruit is bubbly and tender. If using pizza paddle, slide underneath tart to remove when finished. Serve warm or at room temperature with vanilla ice cream.

I highly recommend the ice cream – takes this dessert to another level.

{Please ignore the mess and enjoy}

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

