Chicken Enchiladas

My. parents.

Bless their little hearts.

They’re telling anyone who will listen that their daughter has indeed come to own a computer, a digital camera and general knowledge of the English language and therefore decided to thrust a food blog on the world.

I love them for it.

But I’m feeling the pressure, that’s for sure. I mean, I might actually need to work up motivation to post more than once a week. And actually post recipes. Original recipes? Yeah, that’d probably be a welcome addition to the mix.

So one thing you should know about me is that I could probably eat some kind of “Mexican” food every day. I use that term loosely to include everything from homemade tacos to the wonderful Las Lomas to freezer taquitos. I’m kinda grossing myself out. But I do LOVE freezer taquitos.

And also these: chicken enchiladas. Ohh yeah.

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas – makes about 6 servings
2 chicken breasts (cooked)
1 package cream cheese (I used Neufchâtel)
1/2 cup sour cream (I used light)
2 small cans green chiles
6 tortillas
1 cup shredded cheese
More sour cream & salsa for serving

Season and cook two chicken breasts any way you want. What my mom did to prepare this chicken: place raw chicken in crock pot, cover with can of Rotel, cook all day on “low” setting (3-6 hours), shred.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Dump shredded chicken, cream cheese, sour cream and chiles into a saucepan. Simmer to heat through and combine flavors. Taste for seasoning and add salt or salsa for taste and spice.

Coat a glass or metal pan with cooking spray like canola and fold tortillas in place to prepare for filling. Once your stovetop mixture is ready, spoon about 1/2 cup worth into each tortilla (makes a generous portion and I still had some leftover). Once the filling is in the tortilla, fold and flip over so the seam is down. Fill all tortillas, fold and flip. Then, top with shredded cheese and cover pan with foil. Bake at 350* for 10 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 5 minutes.

So easy and customizable! Add different seasonings like cumin or add chopped up jalapenos if you like your food spicy.

Comments
One Response to “Chicken Enchiladas”
  1. Meg says:

    These look great, I shall have to make them soon! I’m such a big fan of mexican cooking too. And agreed on the freezer taquitos, I’m not sure why I like them but I do!

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

